Education and training of future social workers at the Faculty of Education, Catholic University in Ružomberok (FE CU) has been running since 2004. During this period, Bachelor's, Master's and Doctoral degree programmes in the field of Social Work were accredited. The current Department of Social Work is a successor of past workplaces where the study and research in social work were carried out.

    Former Dean of the Faculty of Education, prof. PhDr. ThDr. Amantius Akimjak, PhD. established the Department of Social Work in Ružomberok in 2004. The Department was part of the Institute of Health and Social Work until 2005.